Log In
HomeProductsAf-members-events


Members events

$0.00 USD

Description:

Friday, October 9, 2020
9:00 am Pacific /10:00am Mountain / 11:00am Central / 12:00pm Eastern/ 6:00pm Paris
Federation of Alliances Françaises USA
In English

The Federation of Alliances Françaises USA is pleased to sponsor this Zoom discussion for the benefit of the Francophile public. The event features Patrick Marnham, author of War in the Shadows, in conversation with Simon Kuper. Twenty years ago, Patrick Marnham published an acclaimed biography of Jean Moulin, who was hand-picked by Charles De Gaulle to lead the French Resistance. Moulin was arrested by the Gestapo in Lyon in 1943, and died soon afterward on the train taking him to Germany.

After the Moulin biography appeared, Marnham received a series of anonymous letters hinting at how Moulin had been betrayed. This led Marnham back to the Loire château where he had learned French from a former Resistance family in the early 1960s. Could this family’s fate and Moulin’s be connected? And did the British, French, American or Soviet intelligence services play a role? Marnham tells the story in his new book War in the Shadows: Resistance, Deception and Betrayal in Occupied France.

Patrick Marnham is a British biographer, journalist and screenwriter. In addition to Jean Moulin, he has written biographies of Diego Rivera, Georges Simenon and Mary Wesley. He spent twelve years as Paris correspondent for the British newspapers the Independent and the Evening Standard.

Simon Kuper is a British author and journalist; he partners with his spouse, Pamela Druckerman, on this series of discussions available on Zoom. Kuper was born in Uganda of South African parents. He moved to Leiden in the Netherlands as a child, where his father, Adam Kuper, was a lecturer in anthropology at Leiden University.

Alliance Française and AATF members are invited to register for this free event through this link.